Churchend Primary Academy

Be the best possible version of yourself

Churchend Academy Governance



Our Governing Body consists of:

1 Chair (Mrs Dawn Smith)
2 Parent Governors (Alan Fawzy and 1 vacancy)
3 Co-opted Governors ( Francis Umukoro, Theresa Robinson and Godfried Nyamekyeh )
1 Teaching staff Governor  (Steph Greggan)
1 Non-Teaching staff Governor (Vacancy)

1 Community Governor: (Daniel Knowles)
Headteacher: Howard Seymour
Jane Brown: Company Secretary and School Business Manager
Louise Matthews: Governance Professional 

Each governor serves a term of 4 years. The chair and vice chair hold this position for 1 year.


Parents elect the Parent Governors, the Governing Body selects its Community Governors, teachers vote for their teacher governor.

The remaining staff select their representative.

The Full Governing Body meet at least four times a year.


Minutes of Governors’ meetings are available for public viewing from the School Office and copies are available from the clerk on request free of charge.

Chair of Full Governing Body: Mrs Dawn Smith
Vice Chair of Full Governing Body: Mrs Theresa Robinson

Safeguarding: Mrs Dawn Smith
Pupil premium: Mrs Dawn Smith
Health & Safety: Vacancy
Science: Alan Fawzy

RHSE:Francis Umukoro

Finance, Audit, Premises and Personnel Committee

Alan Fawzy (Chair)

Francis Umukoro

Theresa Robinson

Howard Seymour - Headteacher

Jane Brown - School Business Manager

Management Committee
Dawn Smith (Chair)
Alan Fawzy

Howard Seymour -Headteacher

Jane Brown - School Business Manager


Curriculum Committee

Steph Greggan (Chair)

Francis Umukoro

Dawn Smith

Howard Seymour

Admissions Committee
Steph Greggan

Alan Fawzy

Howard Seymour -Headteacher


Governor Attendance

Attendance during the year at meetings of the board of Governors was as follows:
Governor:Meetings attendedOut of possible 
Mr H Seymour, Head Teacher44 
Mrs D Smith, Chair of Governors34 
Mr F Umukoro44 
Mr G Nyamekyeh34 
Ms T Robinson34 
Mrs S Greggan44 
Mr D Knowles23 
Mr A Fawzy34 
Mr S Fields44 
Mrs K Bexx44 
Finance committee   
Mr H Seymour, Head Teacher44 
Mrs D Smith, Chair of Governors04 
Mr F Umukoro24 
Ms T Robinson44 
Mr A Fawzy44 
Mr H Seymour, Head Teacher11 
Mrs D Smith, Chair of Governors11 
Mrs S Greggan11 
Mrs K Bexx11 
Mr F Umukoro, Vice Chair 11 
Mr S Fields11 


All Trustees can be contacted via the main school office or the Clerk.

Please call the School on 0118 9375450 or

email the Governance Professional or

write to the school address of Usk Road, Tilehurst,Reading, RG30 4HP.

The three core functions of the governing body


  • Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction
  • Holding the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff
  • Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure that its money is well spent.

If you or somebody that you know is interested in becoming a school governor please contact the clerk to the governors at Churchend: