Home Page

Churchend School Governance


Our Governing Body consists of:

2 Parent Governors (Fiona Walker and Louise Abrantes);
1 Community Governor (Bob Spokes);
2 Co-opted Governors ( Peter West, Reggie Samuel (parent ); 
1 Teaching staff Governor  (Elizabeth James)
1 Non-Teaching staff Governor (Carolyn Baines).
Headteacher : Richard Pearse
Jane Brown is the Company Secretary and School Business Manager
Jodie Smith is the Clerk to Governors


Our school governors are volunteers.

Each governor serves a term of 4 years. The chair and vice chair hold this position for 1 year.


Parents elect the Parent Governors, the Governing Body selects its Community Governors, teachers vote for their teacher governor.

The remaining staff select their representative.

The Full Governing Body meet atleast four times a year.

Governors split into smaller committees in order to discuss Curriculum and Finance matters,  they will then report back to the FGB at the next meeting.

The minutes of the meetings are taken by the Clerk to the Governors, who also organise's the governors’ meetings and provides the agenda and other relevant information.


Minutes of Governors’ meetings are available for public viewing from the School Office, on this website and copies are available from the clerk on request free of charge.


Chair of Full Governing Body: Peter West and Reggie Samuel
Vice Chair of Full Governing Body: Peter West
Literacy: Louise Abrantes

Safeguarding: Carolyn Baines
Special Needs: Carolyn Baines

Pupil premium: Fiona Walker/Elizabeth James
Health & Safety: Bob Spokes
Link Governor: Bob Spokes
Numeracy: Louise Abrantes
Information Technology: Reggie Samuel
Science: Reggie Samuel
Combined studies: Elizabeth James
Foundation Subjects: Curriculum Committee Members
Foundation Stage: Fiona Walker
Educational Visits: Fiona Walker


Finance, Premises and Personnel Committee
Bob Spokes

Reggie Samuel (Chair)
Richard Pearse

Louise Abrantes

Jane Brown - School Business Manager

Management Committee
Bob Spoke (Chair)
Reggie Samuel
Peter West

Richard Pearse

Curriculum Committee

Fiona Walker

Carolyn Baines
Richard Pearse
Peter West (Chair)
Elizabeth James

Louise Abrantes

Admissions Committee
Carolyn Baines (Chair)
Peter West



Pecuniary and business interests- September 2018

Co-opted governor Peter West is the husband of a staff member, Jennie West who is a Teaching Assistant.

Fiona Walker works for NFER as Head of centre for evaluation and consultancy.

Carolyn Baines has a relative who works at Premier Office supplies.

Carolyn Baines has a nephew who works at Churchend as a teaching assistant.


All governors can be contacted via the main school office or the Clerk.

Please call the School on 0118 9375450 or

email the clerk at or

write to the school address of Usk Road, Tilehurst,Reading, RG30 4HP.

Governor Meetings

All FGB and curriculum meetings are held on wednesday evenings starting at 6.30pm.

Finance committee meetings are held on Thursday mornings at 9.15am.

FGB Meetings are planned so that curriculum and finance meetings can feed into the FGB agenda.


Full governing body meetings


26th September 2018

5th December 2018

24th April 2019

17th July 2019


Curriculum committee


14th November 2018

27th February 2019

12th June 2019


Finance committee

29th November 2018

21st March 2019

4th July 2019

There are also finance recovery meetings attended by the finance committee in between the termly meetings.



The three core functions of the governing body


  • Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction
  • Holding the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff
  • Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure that its money is well spent.